Information on DUI in Florida

Driving Under the Influence, DUI is an offense under Florida law.  The offense is proven by impairment of “normal faculties” or blood alchohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above.  You hear the term DWI, driving under the influence, but in Florida driving while impaired is legally DUI.

Penalties for being charged with a DUI in Florida are based on the amount over the minimum .08 %, if there is a minor in the vehicle, number of previous convictions, if there is injury, or property damage.  Fines can range from $500 - $4,000.

For a first infraction the offender will serve a mandatory 50 hrs of community service.  However for a first offense the total period of probation and incarceration will not exceed on year.

Imprisonment is at the court’s discretion.  For a first conviction not more than 6 months unless the alcohol level is .15 % or higher or there was a minor in the vehicle.  Then the offender will not server more than 9 months.

Driver’s license suspension, revocation and reinstatement

On the first conviction your license can be suspended for 180 days up to one year.  During that time you can apply for a hardship license before the expiration of the revocation period.  DUI school completion or treatment for substance abuse may be required.

You can request reinstatement of your license after the revocation period with evidence of the treatment program and DUI school.  If you fail to complete the course or treatment within 90 days of the reinstatement it will result in the cancellation of your drivers license.

2nd, 3rd, 4th DUI convictions

Please visit the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle Website for more information on drivers’ license, DUI programs, and other frequently asked questions.

Do you need a lawyer if arrested for DUI in Florida?

Receiving a DYI conviction in Florida impacts more than just your driver’s license and pocket book.  Depending on the severity of the charges and number of times the conviction could be considered a misdemeanor or felony.  Regardless of the penalty the conviction will impact your ability to get car insurance or at the minimum raise the price of insurance.

The conviction goes on you record which is often checked for renting, buying a home, or when applying for a job.  With such long range potential impacts on your life engaging a lawyer up front to minimize the impact.

An experience criminal attorney can ensure you follow the court quidelines and time frames, and perhaps minimize the penalties.  The attorney can help apply for a hardship driver’s license and get it reistanted as soon as possible.

They can also work to help you get your record seal or expunged preventing issues with record checks later.  An experienced attorney can help you navigate the court and legal system.

Have questions?  

Call the Law Offices of Edward M. Panzica 24/7 at 727-588-0966 

Enter your text here...

related posts:

Get in touch