Do I need a lawyer for traffic violations in Florida?
If you are issued a traffic violation in Florida you have 30 days to make decisions on what to do. After 30 days if you have not contacted the Clerk of Court to pay your fine, contest the violation or elect to take a driver improvement course you may be assessed additional fines along with the suspension of your driver's license.
Pay the fine
You have a choice to pay the civil penalty on the front of the citation to the Clerk of Court by visiting the clerk’s office in the county where the infraction took place. In sixty-seven counties in Florida, you can visit the website www.payflclerk.com and pay the penalty.
In Florida payment of the penalty is considered a conviction and points will be assessed to your driver’s record. Points are not assessed until you pay the fine, fail in contesting the violation, or take the driver’s improvement course within 30 days.
Other traffic violations to take into consideration
For certain violations, you may have to show proof of compliance to the Clerk of Court such as
License expired less than 6 months
Expired tags less than six months
Failure to display a valid driver’s license at the time of the violation
Failure to display a valid registration at the time of the violation
For some violations you are required to take a drivers improvement course:
Passing a stopped school bus
Running a red light or other traffic control device
Points and Suspensions
Each traffic violation in Florida if convicted or admitted guilt carries points associated with the violation that goes on your driving record. The points can add up to trouble, primarily the suspension of your driving privileges. Increasing the cost of your car insurance is another problem that arises from having points on your record.
Here is a list of points for common violations taken from the www.flhsmv.gov
Why be concerned over points on your driving record?
Points stay on your driving record for at least 5 years! Too many points on your record in a specified period of time can result in a suspension of your driving privileges. Times are from when the first violation occurred.
Options to keep points off your record?
For some violations or first violations attending a driver’s school sponsored by the state online or in-person can prevent points from going onto your Florida driving record.
The best defense is a good offense in most cases. An experienced traffic court attorney can prevent or minimize the damage of additive points on your record. Each violation should be taken seriously and contacting an attorney to help you through the court process will save money and hardship in the long run.
Call Law Offices of Edward M. Panzica - 727-588-0966